Accessibility Advisory Committee

Accessibility Plan 2017-2021

The Corporation of the County of Prince Edward strives to meet the needs of its employees, residents, visitors, and customers with disabilities and is working hard to remove and prevent barriers to accessibility.

The County is committed to fulfilling our requirements under the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act. The Accessibility Plan 2017-2021 outlines the steps The County is taking to meet those requirements and to improve opportunities for people with disabilities.

Accessible Customer Service

The County of Prince Edward is committed to providing accessible service for its customers. Goods and services will be provided in a manner that respects the dignity and independence of all customers. The provision of services to persons with disabilities will be integrated into standard operating customer services procedures wherever possible. Persons with disabilities will be given opportunities equal to those given to others to obtain, use, or benefit from the goods and services provided by and on behalf of the Municipality. Council endorsed policy and procedures in March 2010 and these documents are available by the links below. All documents required by the Ontario Regulation 429/07 are available in alternate format, upon request.

Accessibility Customer Service Procedures

The County's Customer Service Policy for Persons with Disabilities

Accessibility Advisory Committee

The mandate of the Accessibility Advisory Committee is to provide advice to Council regarding the municipality’s accessibility plan with a goal to improve accessibility and mobility of residents and visitors within the County through the development of its accessibility plan. The Committee recommends an annual plan for Council consideration.

Terms of Reference

Accessibility Advisory Committee Terms of Reference

Meeting Dates

As required - a minimum of three (3) times a year.


Under the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005 the Committee shall be composed, as follows:

  • No less than three (3) members;
  • No more than seven (7) members;
  • One (1) Member of Council (optional).
  • The majority of the members of the Committee should be people with disabilities.


For the term of Council or until reappointed.


Committee Members

  • Members

    Councillor Ernie Margetson

    David Boorne

    Kevin Lockwood

    Nancy Stephenson

    Ken Dewar

    Martin Lennox

  • Staff Contact

    Tanya Delaney - Outdoor Facility Supervisor

    Contact: 613.476.2148 Ext. 4004